Craigslist camera scams
Author
Discussion

theboyfold

Original Poster:

11,469 posts

255 months

Thursday 6th January 2011
quotequote all
A friend and I have been looking through Craigslist at various camera listings and are starting to wonder if they are scams. They don't fit the normal profile of a scam that you'd find on PH...

Canon Ultrasonic Zoom Lens 16-35mm 1:2.8 L II USM NEW - £400
http://london.craigslist.co.uk/pho/2122111271.html
Listed in London, seller has replied to email and not answered any questions about location or contact details.

LEICA M7 0.72 RANGEFINDER PLUS TWO LENSES MOTOR AND BAG - £1600
http://london.craigslist.co.uk/pho/2096293851.html
Listed in London, but seller has replied saying that they are based in Shetland! Is this a scam to put people off coming around to see if and just taking a punt as it's wildly under valued

Canon EOS 1Ds Mark III Body 21.1 Megapixel - £1200
http://london.craigslist.co.uk/pho/2109981875.html
Again replied saying they were based in Aberdeen, not London as it's listed. Again VERY cheap

Canon EOS-1Ds Mark III Body and Armor - £1200
http://london.craigslist.co.uk/pho/2096246183.html

I don't think I've seen so many dodgy ads!!

scoobal

4,112 posts

243 months

Friday 7th January 2011
quotequote all
yep same on gumtree, thought the 7D for 450 was too good to be true, and the d80 with 7 lens in bristol @ 490 frown

Would have gone to Bristol to buy it but them the email came in from the other ad, guess what same email addy...

And wanting to use Ukash as payment. Bugger annoying when they get every where.

crmcatee

5,805 posts

256 months

Friday 7th January 2011
quotequote all
The Shetland one is familiar.

They were previously listing an engine a mate was interested in buying and when he made enquiries it was notified that it was in Shetland as opposed to Glasgow or somewhere they said it was originally.

He hoped to check it out prior to shipping so they advised it was in Shetland thinking it would cause problems and folks would just send the money. Unfortunately we know someone in Shetland who was up for visiting them. We never did get the address which is a pity.


theboyfold

Original Poster:

11,469 posts

255 months

Friday 7th January 2011
quotequote all
The first link I posted has asked for payment via Ukash, and the emails are generic as well, using 'the item' all the time instead of 'the lens'.

I guess if it's too good to be true...

tinman0

18,231 posts

269 months

Friday 7th January 2011
quotequote all
Would be nice if this sort of stuff could be reported to the Police properly as there is obviously someone trying to commit a wide scale fraud.

Manee

5,299 posts

222 months

Friday 7th January 2011
quotequote all
saying that i got my a200 + 3 lenses + 8gb card for £250 off gumtree and it worked out fine.