T350 on ebay. so cheap!!!
Discussion
Can't tell from the listing, but there's obviously somthing wrong.
The seller appears to be suggesting that he/she will spill the beans once you send an email.
Not the normal way of doing things on ebay.
http://search.ebay.co.uk:80/120025659">Link
The seller appears to be suggesting that he/she will spill the beans once you send an email.
Not the normal way of doing things on ebay.
http://search.ebay.co.uk:80/120025659">Link
Edited by Tonto on Monday 28th August 23:39
Looks like 2 people are trying to sell the same car! Item number: 300021938146
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/TVR-T350C-3-6-2
Both ads have the same photo of the car!
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/TVR-T350C-3-6-2
Both ads have the same photo of the car!
Tonto said:
Can't tell from the listing, but there's obviously somthing wrong.
The seller appears to be suggesting that he/she will spill the beans once you send an email.
Not the normal way of doing things on ebay.
http://search.ebay.co.uk:80/120025659">Link
The seller appears to be suggesting that he/she will spill the beans once you send an email.
Not the normal way of doing things on ebay.
http://search.ebay.co.uk:80/120025659">Link
Edited by Tonto on Monday 28th August 23:39
Hi Tony, Thanks for doing the link, I have never seen an item with a buy it now price like that, perhaps the seller might like to explain those reasons.
Dave
onny said:
Looks like 2 people are trying to sell the same car! Item number: 300021938146
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/TVR-T350C-3-6-2
Both ads have the same photo of the car!
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/TVR-T350C-3-6-2
Both ads have the same photo of the car!
Although this particular one may be legit, beware of dodgy characters who sell on Ebay in the following way:
1. Register an I.D., you'll probably be based in China or Russia.
2. Save all the pics of the item on Ebay you want to clone (easily done in photoshop or equivalent programme).
3. Copy the item description exactly (easily done with Word, etc...)
4. Have a "Buy it Now" price so that the £/$ etc that your 'buyer' pays goes straight into a PayPal account you have set up.
I nearly got caught when I saw an item for sale that looked too good to be true - which of course it was, it was a "clone" of an item that had just ended on Ebay. I reported it to Ebay as "intellectual property infringement" but on that particular occasion they did nothing to remove the offending ad. I've also had one of my items "cloned" in a similar way last year, when another vendor was selling an exact same item I had for sale on Ebay but they chose to use my high-res photos (of my item of course), in that instance Ebay did intervene.
Anyhow you have been warned.
A friend rang me a few weeks back, he'd seen a cheap DB7 Volante on Autotrader, emailed the person, apparently this thing was up 15k less than it should. The person at the other end was intimating they were female, didn't know too much about cars etc, just moved to Italy and wanted to sell it quick. They also said, that for buyer protection, they would do the transaction through Autotrader, as in, they'll contact you, you transfer the money and if you aren't totally satisfied, you can reverse the sale within 7 days. You were even invited to inspect the vehicle at a location in London.
This all sounded very strange, so i rang Autotrader who went into overdrive down the phone at me, i knew it didn't sound right and the guy told me what the scam was. Basically, your interested in the car, you email your details to the person, they then forward it onto "Autotrader", then someome calls you from pretending to be from Autotrader, you arrange a viewing.
They have it so about 10 people look at a real car in London, all back to back, unaware that there's someone else interested, you then arrange the transfer. Once you've done that, they're on their toes with your money and 9 other peoples money, works out about 25k a time. They then take the vehicle back to the hire company they borrowed it from a few days prior.
Its amazing the lengths these people go to, my mate was very unhappy about this, but the guy stressed down the phone that whatever you do, don't say or threaten them, these guys are nasty bastards. So i told him to say he found an alternative vehicle blah blah and thanks for their time. I even had the vehicle HPi'd and it was very shady indeed, the same number plate had been transferred to a Merc, so be careful.
This all sounded very strange, so i rang Autotrader who went into overdrive down the phone at me, i knew it didn't sound right and the guy told me what the scam was. Basically, your interested in the car, you email your details to the person, they then forward it onto "Autotrader", then someome calls you from pretending to be from Autotrader, you arrange a viewing.
They have it so about 10 people look at a real car in London, all back to back, unaware that there's someone else interested, you then arrange the transfer. Once you've done that, they're on their toes with your money and 9 other peoples money, works out about 25k a time. They then take the vehicle back to the hire company they borrowed it from a few days prior.
Its amazing the lengths these people go to, my mate was very unhappy about this, but the guy stressed down the phone that whatever you do, don't say or threaten them, these guys are nasty bastards. So i told him to say he found an alternative vehicle blah blah and thanks for their time. I even had the vehicle HPi'd and it was very shady indeed, the same number plate had been transferred to a Merc, so be careful.
valhalla said:
Just seen this on ebay, Item number120025659175 why so cheap?
It appears to have disappeared
The 300021938146 is still there, but that seems legit enough to me?? Its been for sale for a while now from what I remember.
"Post to: Will arrange for local pickup only (no postage)" I wonder what it would cost now Royal Mail has put postage cost up???
Edited by Griffsmith on Tuesday 29th August 15:09
onny said:
Looks like 2 people are trying to sell the same car! Item number: 300021938146
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/TVR-T350C-3-6-2
Both ads have the same photo of the car!
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/TVR-T350C-3-6-2
Both ads have the same photo of the car!
There was a blue P- reg cerb for sale outside the very same house as this car a few weeks ago, weird

I think you will find that they are legitimate dealers. Quite well known locally.
[url] www.specialistcarsofsomerset.co.uk/GetDealer.do?did=20244&pageid=2 [/url]
[url] www.specialistcarsofsomerset.co.uk/GetDealer.do?did=20244&pageid=2 [/url]
lmiller said:
I purchased a T350 from these guys about a year ago and stumbled across this conversation by chance. I must say what a delight it was dealing with such honest people. The aftersales and service have been impeccable and would certainly reccommend to anyone.
Have you put an extra 'l' in your user name ?
Edited by RUSSELLM on Tuesday 18th August 19:49
Gassing Station | General TVR Stuff & Gossip | Top of Page | What's New | My Stuff



