Scam or what...
Author
Discussion

jaytee368

Original Poster:

2,058 posts

274 months

Friday 16th September 2005
quotequote all
Just got this email, haven't seen or heard of this scam style before...
[quote=scammer]
ATLANPOLE COMPANY
ChБteau de la Chantrerie
BP 90702
F-44307 Nantes cedex 3
France
Website: www.atlanpole.fr

REQUEST FOR COMPANY REPRESENTATIVE

I represent ATLANPOLE COMPANY based in FRANCE. We are searching for representatives who can help us establish a medium of getting to our customers in America and other nearby countries as well as making payments through you as our payment officer. It is upon this note that we seek your assistance to stand as our representative in your country. Note that, as our representative, you will receive 10%(ten percent) of whatever amount you clear for the company and the balance will be paid into an account we will avail to you. Please, to facilitate the conclusion of this transaction if accepted, do send me promptly by email the following:

(1)Your full names:
(2)Contact address:
(3)Home/office phone:
(4)Occupation:
(5)Age:

For more verbal update please contact me through my personal email;
Email:ramowise@walla.com
Email:ramowise799@hotmail.com
Thank you for your time.

Very Respectfully,
MR. Ramo Wise
(MANAGING DIRECTOR/CEO ATLANPOLE COMPANY, FRANCE).[/quote]

andy mac

73,668 posts

285 months

Friday 16th September 2005
quotequote all
Completely a scam. It involves the words money, and giving you their info. Its French, rather than nigerian, which is nice.

wtanih

31 posts

254 months

Friday 16th September 2005
quotequote all
What's more the scammer appears to be using the name and details of whai i believe to be a perfectly respectable company, (looking at their website) and surprise surprise the guy's name doesn't appear anywhere on the list of the board of directors. I would forward this message to them.

esselte

14,626 posts

297 months

Friday 16th September 2005
quotequote all
I think the hotmail email address is a bit of a giveaway

Witchfinder

6,388 posts

282 months

Friday 16th September 2005
quotequote all
Go for it! You'll get to be the genuine "French Connection"

Money laundering carries mega-tough penalties these days.

MilnerR

8,273 posts

288 months

Friday 16th September 2005
quotequote all
It may be nigerian but it looks like an eastern european scam (the english is too good). Its either an advanced fee fraud (classic 419 scam) or a fake check money laundering scam. set up a fastemail account and tell them you're interested lol

jaytee368

Original Poster:

2,058 posts

274 months

Friday 16th September 2005
quotequote all
Thanks Ted!

Update, well not much really, but I have now emailed the company including the original email.
I hope this doesn't backfire but curiosity got the better of me!
So, we'll see...

rich1231

17,340 posts

290 months

Friday 16th September 2005
quotequote all
jaytee368 said:
Thanks Ted!

Update, well not much really, but I have now emailed the company including the original email.
I hope this doesn't backfire but curiosity got the better of me!
So, we'll see...


Jesus H christ, I have a great scheme to... give me all your money and ill run off with it, ok.

Did your common sense get surgically removed at school?



jaytee368

Original Poster:

2,058 posts

274 months

Friday 16th September 2005
quotequote all
rich1231 said:

Jesus H christ, I have a great scheme to... give me all your money and ill run off with it, ok.
Did your common sense get surgically removed at school?

Rich - Many thanx for your concern and, no, I'm pleased to advise nothing of me has been surgically removed (except appendix when I was young) or improved (maybe a todger reduction funded by my prospective earnings from Atlanpole).

I think it's fairly obvious I tumbled this one from the outset and copied it to P & P for the benefit of others, more because as I've said, I hadn't heard of or seen this scam type before, though it seems like a variation on a theme.

Rest assured my email to that company, as someone previously suggested, was purely to make them aware of a possible problem.
Lastly I'm not looking for work, very happy where I am as I get to spend lots of time messing in PH!!!
And lastly last, no, you don't get none of my easily earned wedge, not that easily anyway.

MilnerR

8,273 posts

288 months

Friday 16th September 2005
quotequote all
It is indeed a real company being used, there's bugger all they can do about it other than report that account to hotmail who will then freeze the account. The scammer will then open another up 2 mins later and be back thieving again.

Have you got the email headers so that I can trace where it came from?

rich 36

13,739 posts

296 months

Friday 16th September 2005
quotequote all
I think Jamie should go for it, try out his french
Bonn Chonse mate

MilnerR

8,273 posts

288 months

Friday 16th September 2005
quotequote all
rich 36 said:
I think Jamie should go for it, try out his french
Bonn Chonse mate



I think writing a reply in english babel fishing it to spanish then german then french then english then back into french again should keep the scum occupied.

jaytee368

Original Poster:

2,058 posts

274 months

Saturday 17th September 2005
quotequote all
MilnerR said:
Have you got the email headers so that I can trace where it came from?

Possibly, I'm using Outlook.
The last time I was asked for headers unfortunately I was using Lotus Notes (employer's choice not mine) the "headers" weren't available.
What if anything would I have to do to send you these headers?

MilnerR

8,273 posts

288 months

Saturday 17th September 2005
quotequote all
Open the message in a separate window, go to view and then select options. There will be an information window with the full header in it. This should contain the originating IP address from the computer it came from. copy the full headers and either pm me or post them on here with your address editted out.

Tall_Paul

1,915 posts

257 months

Saturday 17th September 2005
quotequote all
MilnerR said:
I think writing a reply in english babel fishing it to spanish then german then french then english then back into french again should keep the scum occupied.


I just translated "I am interested in this offer, can you send me some more information on what it involves?" to Greek, then French, Dutch, and back to English, it ended up like this

"You interest you for the this offer, can you something further information on send itself to send what include?"

Thats quite fun...

jaytee368

Original Poster:

2,058 posts

274 months

Sunday 18th September 2005
quotequote all
MilnerR said:
Open the message in a separate window, go to view and then select options. There will be an information window with the full header in it. This should contain the originating IP address from the computer it came from. copy the full headers and either pm me or post them on here with your address editted out.

Thanks, Roy. I'll do that tomorrow as it's on my company email.
Maybe I'll have a response from Atlanpole too, then again they are only frogs...